Sat Nov 19, 2011 10:42 pm by Karma

May 2018
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat

Calendar Calendar

[OCHEM: Lesson 1] - Very Basic Nomenclature

Go down

[OCHEM: Lesson 1] - Very Basic Nomenclature

Post by Alias on Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:45 pm

Hi guys! Seeming I'm no proficient enough in Python yet to teach you anything (I could very well teach you the basics, but I'll do that later.) So I'll share some Chemistry knowledge. This doesn't mean I'm an expert though xD So I could very well be wrong somewhere. Sorry if that's the case anytime soon.

We're doing Organic Chemistry, by the way. But let's take a moment to talk about what that actually means! (Please take a moment to also forgive my n00b English)

Note: Some things like "Functional Groups" will be covered later, so don't get too confused. D:

What is Organic Chemistry?
IUPAC Nomenclature
Steps to Naming (IUPAC)
Definitions

Organic Chemistry is pretty much a subgroup of Chemistry, meaning that Chemistry is the main big branch, and then Organic Chemistry is a smaller branch. Organic Chemistry, like Chemistry, involves scientifically studying reactions (whether it be composition, properties, synthesis..) of carbon compounds, and hydrocarbons (compounds made up of only hydrogen and carbon). Also, we study the derivatives of these carbon compounds and hydrocarbon compounds.

Sounds fun, right? Smile

IUPAC Nomenclature
-The root name of the compound is determined by the longest carbon chain
-The root name is modified by "functional groups" which are attached to the root

-The highest priority functional groups modify the suffix of the root name
-All other attached grounds (substituents) are added as prefixes to the root name

-There can be more than one functional group

Basic Steps to Naming an Organic Compound
  • Identify the main "functional group" and substituents, if any

• Identify the longest continuous chain containing the functional group

• Assign numbering to the main "functional group" and the substituents